Business student

Dixon selected as finalist for Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete STATS FCS Award

CHICAGO – After winning CoSIDA Academic All-America honors last week, offensive lineman Duquesne Jake dixon (Pittsburgh, PA / Bethel Park) was recently named a finalist for the STATS FCS Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award.

Dixon was one of 15 finalists – one from each FCS conference – to be nominated for the seventh annual award. Named after the late school teacher and wife of legendary Grambling State coach Eddie Robinson, he is introduced to a student-athlete who excels both in the classroom and in the community.

This is the fourth season in a row that the Northeast Conference (NEC) representative for the Doris Robinson Award has come from Duquesne. Offensive lineman Matt Fitzpatrick was a finalist in 2018 before the defensive back Spencer DeMedal has won the conference nomination each of the past two seasons.

Southern Illinois offensive lineman ZeVeyon Furcron has been named the 2021 STATS FCS Doris Robinson Award winner, which will be presented at the FCS National Awards Banquet on January 7 in Frisco, TX. STATS FCS Legacy Awards include the Doris Robinson Award, Eddie Robinson Award for FCS Coach of the Year, Walter Payton Award for Offensive Player of the Year, Buck Buchanan Award for Defensive Player of the Year as well as the Jerry Rice Award for Rookie of the Year.

Dixon is the 12th finalist for the Duquesne Legacy Award since 2015.

He started all 10 games on left tackle for the Dukes, winning the All-NEC first-team for the second straight season after moving to the near-end offensive line ahead of the 2020-21 campaign.

Dixon appeared in a career school record 50 games at Duquesne and was part of a team for the NEC title in 2018, helping the Dukes secure their first FCS playoff victory this season. Dixon and the Dukes also beat Ohio this year, marking the program’s first victory over an FBS opponent.

He led Duquesne’s offensive line that set the pace for the NEC and placed 17th in the FCS for sacks allowed per game in 2021, limiting opponents to 1.2 sacks per game. Dixon helped the Dukes keep opposing teams one sack or less in eight of 10 games this season. In 15 career left tackle games, he’s helped the Dukes set an 11-4 record, blocking 10 individual performances from 100 yards rushing and four games from 300 yards passing.

Dixon was recently named CoSIDA Academic All-American for the second consecutive season and was the FCS National Bowl lineman MVP in Daytona Beach, Florida.

2021 Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award finalists
Troy Andersen, MT, LB, Sr. (Big Sky) – Agricultural Business Diploma, 3.91
Bennett Dondoyano, San Diego, WR, R-Sr. (Pioneer) – Finance and Marketing, 3.82
Seth Carlisle, Tennessee Tech, LB, Jr. (Ohio Valley) – Biology Health Sciences (Pre-Dentistry), 3.61
Davis Cheek, Elon, QB, Sr. (CAA) – Diploma in Strategic Communications, 3.51; pursue an MBA
McClendon Curtis, Chattanooga, OL, R-Jr. (South) – Diploma in sports management, 3.30; pursuing a master’s degree in teacher leadership
Jake dixon, Duquesne, OL, Grad (North East) – Master of Accounting, 4.0
ZeVeyon Furcron, Southern Illinois, OL, Sr. (Missouri Valley) – Master of Science in Education, 3.88
Maurio Goings, State of Delaware, LB, R-Fr. (Mid-Eastern Athletic) – Biological Sciences with Minor in Chemistry, 3.77
Ezra Gray, State of Alabama, RB, R-Sr. (Southwestern Athletic) – Diploma in Computer Information Systems, 4.0
Gavin Landry, Northwestern State, WR, R-Sr. (Southland) – Diploma in Business Administration, 3.94
Parker McKinney, Eastern Kentucky, QB, R-So. (ASUN) – Public health, 3.42 GPA
Peter Oliver, Holy Cross, RB, Sr. (Patriot) – Chemistry and Spanish Double Major, 3.95
Caleb O’Neal, Kennesaw State, WR, Grad (Big South) – Biology, 3.43
Deven Osborne, Dixie State, WR, Sr. (Western Athletic) – Diploma in Business Administration, 3.31
Spencer Rolland, Harvard, OL, Sr. (Ivy) – Mechanical Engineering, 3.85

Finalists for the Duquesne STATS FCS Legacy Award
2021 – Jake dixon – Doris Robinson Prize
2020-21 – Billy lucas – Jerry Rice Prize
2020-21 – Spencer DeMedal – Doris Robinson Prize
2019 – Spencer DeMedal – Doris Robinson Prize
2018 – AJ Hines – Walter Payton Award
2018 – Matt Fitzpatrick – Doris Robinson Award
2018 – Jerry schmitt – Eddie Robinson Award
2017 – Tommy Stuart – Walter Payton Award
2016 – AJ Hines – Jerry Rice Award (Winner)
2016 – Christian Kuntz – Buck Buchanan Award
2016 – Dillon Buechel – Walter Payton Award
2015 – Jerry schmitt – Eddie Robinson Award