Business information

National Preparedness Month creates an ideal planning opportunity for residents

September 16, 2022

The Oswego County Legislative Assembly recognized September as National Preparedness Month at its September 15 plenary meeting.

“National Preparedness Month in September creates an ideal opportunity for every Oswego County resident to prepare their homes, businesses and communities for any type of emergency, including natural disasters,” said the chairman of Oswego County Legislature, James Weatherup, District 9. “I urge all government agencies, private organizations, and Oswego County residents and businesses to develop their own emergency preparedness plans. emergency and work together to create a stronger and more resilient community.

Oswego County Emergency Management Director Cathleen Palmitesso said the County Office of Emergency Management partners with federal, state, local, private and volunteer agencies to educate individuals about local risks. and how to prepare for it. “Our office encourages people to make plans with — and for — their family members, not only for disasters and emergencies, but also to make their homes more resilient to natural hazards,” she said. .

While receiving the proclamation at the September Legislature meeting, Oswego County Emergency Management Coordinator Renee Fox said people don’t need to reinvent the wheel to develop an emergency preparedness plan. “There are many good resources available at The important thing is to start. The more prepared we are as individuals, the stronger we are as a community.

More information on disaster planning is available at and on the Oswego County Emergency Management Office web page at

IT’S TIME TO MAKE A PLAN – The Oswego County Legislature Public Safety Committee presented a proclamation declaring September National Preparedness Month to Oswego County Emergency Management Coordinator Renee Fox during its regular meeting. Pictured from left are Frank Castiglia, Jr., District 25; Richard Kline, District 12; Mary Ellen Chesbro, District 10; Fox; committee chair Marc Greco, District 24; Laurie Mangano, District 17; committee vice-chairman Nathan Emmons, District 15; and Herbert Yerdon, District 2.